Home » Crafting Mama » Making a Shelf from a Wooden Wine Crate

Making a Shelf from a Wooden Wine Crate

We have only one bathroom in this house and it is tiny.  There is a tub, pedestal sink and toilet and I can almost touch every wall standing in the center.  There isn’t much room for storage.  We have a medicine cabinet/mirror above the sink for some things but I’ve been wanting to add a shelf in there for quite some time.

I came across the idea to track down wooden wine crates at liquor stores in This Old House magazine.  They suggested calling around but I thought we might have more luck if Sam and I just showed up at a liquor store so we headed out to the biggest liquor store in the area.  I asked and was told no, most wine doesn’t come in crates anymore.  After a few more questions of where I might find one, the man asked how many we were looking for.  I said one and he went to the back to look around and came back out with one!

We brought it home and during one of Sam’s naps, I peeled off the labels and then sanded it a bit by hand.  I stained it Minwax dark walnut and then used Minwax finishing wax as the top coat.  I applied both using an old t-shirt torn into rags.  I like the wax better than polyurethane because it’s easier to use (no cleaning brushes!) and it has more of a matte finish.  I think it’s not as good of a sealant as actual polyurethane but for a little shelf, it worked fine.

I bought two oil-rubbed bronze handrail brackets (about $5 each at Home Depot) to use to attach the shelf to the wall and then Aaron hung it for me.  I love simple projects like this because if I try to tackle a long, difficult project, I tend to lose interest mid-way through or never actually finish.  These small projects are good for me.  Aaron is the long, difficult project person in the house.

 


Linked up to I Heart Organizing, Lil Miss Tori, Gingersnap Crafts

Featured on Mabey She Made It!

Lil' Mrs. Tori

 

8 thoughts on “Making a Shelf from a Wooden Wine Crate

  1. Pingback: Our Bathroom Renovation | Crayons and Drywall

  2. Looks great! I would love it if you joined and contribute your awesome posts at my link party at City of Creative Dreams, starts on Fridays 😀 Hope to see you there at City of Creative Dreams Link Party.

  3. Pingback: Mabey She Made It Do Tell Tuesday #31 » Mabey She Made It

  4. Thank you for sharing this post at City of Creative Dream’s City of Links on Friday! I appreciate you taking the time to party with me. Hope to see you again this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

