Home » Crafting Mama » IKEA Bekvam Step Stool Makeover

IKEA Bekvam Step Stool Makeover

We purchased an IKEA Bekvam step stool for $14.99 a few months ago for Sam to use to reach the sink in the bathroom.  It’s really sturdy and easy to put together and only $15.  It is unfinished Beech.  A few weeks ago I got it into my head that I wanted to stain and paint it.  I wish I would have done that prior to assembling it but it turned out that I didn’t need to disassemble the whole thing so it wasn’t bad.

Here is a picture of the unfinished, straight from IKEA stool:

I took off the two step parts and stained them with Minwax dark walnut and then used Minwax satin polyurethane as the top coat which I applied with a foam brush.  After one coat of polyurethane, the steps felt rough so I sanded them with 220 grit sand paper and then applied another coat of polyurethane.

I painted the rest of the stool with 2 coats of Glidden Duo untinted white paint in semi-gloss that we use for all the trim and doors in our house.

And here’s the finished step stool.  I’m really happy with it!  I’m not sure how well the white paint will stand up to Sam’s abuse but I can always touch it up.

And here is where it lives in our bathroom:

 


Linked up to I heart Organizing

 

Leave a Reply

