Home » Recipe - Baking » Slow Cooker Chicken & Dumplings and Blueberry Cheesecake Squares

Slow Cooker Chicken & Dumplings and Blueberry Cheesecake Squares

A couple recipes that I’ve made lately:

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings (By Budget Bytes)

This was awesome!  I loved it and it was easy.  I followed the recipe exactly except I replaced the parsley with Italian seasoning in the dumplings because we didn’t have any parsley.

In the slow cooker:


Blackberry Cheesecake Squares (By The Pioneer Woman)

I used blueberries instead of blackberries and doubled the recipe because we had two get togethers where I was bringing a dessert.  I made the crusts in two separate batches because I couldn’t fit that many graham crackers in my food processor but I made the cheesecake filling in one giant batch in my 6 quart mixer.

Normally when I make a cheesecake, I do a water bath but I followed the Pioneer Woman’s instruction for these and just put a baking dish of water on the bottom rack and both cheesecakes on the middle rack and baked them for an extra 10 minutes.

Here are the two 9″x13″ pans with crust ready to be filled.

And here they are baked and cooling.

And finished with the blueberry topping:

These bars were really good.  After refrigerating, I lifted the whole thing out of the pan and sliced easily.  I did have to add a little more cornstarch and cook the berries longer than the recipe suggested.  Possibly because I used blueberries instead of blackberries?  Next time I’ll lessen the amount of water I put into the berries.  They were a big hit at both parties though and it made a huge amount!

Leave a Reply

