Home » Things I Love » Baby Gear for #2

Baby Gear for #2

Since we’re having another boy around the same time of year that we had Sam, there aren’t many things or clothes that we need.  There are a few things that I wish I had when Sam was a baby that I’m getting this time around.

A New Swing

When I did the baby registry for Sam, I didn’t do a lot of research and only registered at Target.  I ended up picking out a space saver, travel swing and Sam hated it right from the start.  It didn’t seem very comfortable and the swinging motion was kind of jerky.  We ended up selling it on Craigslist.

Sam might have just not been into swings and wouldn’t have liked any but we’re going to try again this time.  I got a Fisher Price Cradle swing from Craigslist for $40 a couple of weeks ago.  It’s MASSIVE.

This one seems way more comfortable and swings in two different directions.  I’m going to need to be able to put this baby down some times and I’m hoping he’ll be into this.  If not, I can probably resell it for the same price.

Ring Sling

I’m also planning to buy a used ring sling.  I found one on the FSOT Facebook and will hopefully pick it up this week.  It’s a barely used linen Sakura Bloom ring sling.

[source]

I also have a Moby and an Ergo that I used with Sam.  I liked the Moby but only ever used it around the house.  It was too hard for me to deal with outside of the house and since Sam was born in the Summer, it was too hot most of the time to use outside those first couple of months.  I’ll probably still use it a bit this time around but will probably use the sling out of the house more.

{Tiny Sam in the Moby}

moby pic 2

I like the Ergo a lot and could still use it for Sam in a back carry though we never do.  I think I started using it with him around 5 months.  I also have an infant insert for it but Sam always hated it and a lot of my friends who’ve tried the insert had the same opinion.  I’ll probably start to use the Ergo again around the 5-6 month mark.

{Sam in the Ergo}

ergo pic

A Double Stroller

The last item I bought for the new baby is a double stroller.  I was originally pretty sold on buying a Bob Duallie.  A lot of my friends have Bob’s and love them.  Plus our sidewalks are not the smoothest so it would definitely be good for outside walking which is what we use the stroller most for.  Then I talked to a friend who has twins and is pregnant with her third child.  She has a Bob Duallie but originally had a Baby Jogger City Select and sold it to get the Bob.  She said she’s switching back and plans to get the City Select again.

I never really considered any tandem style double strollers but after talking to her, I looked into that one and it seems pretty awesome.

Things I like about it:

  • Both seats are the same and have a high weight limit (45 lbs each).
  • The child seated in the back seat can still see over the front seat.
  • It has a million different configurations (16).
  • It can be a single stroller.
  • It has an adapter to accept our infant carseat (Britax B-Safe).
  • It folds down smaller than the Bob.
  • It’s appearance is more my style than the Bob.
  • It still has big enough wheels that I don’t think pushing it around our neighborhood will be a problem.
  • I don’t have to worry about getting a flat stroller tire (Forever Air Tires).

It’s definitely an expensive stroller but I think it’ll be worth it and it should retain value pretty well.  It’s like a Honda!

Other than those three things, I’m going to buy tiny diapers, nursing pads, breast milk storage bags, new bottles and possibly a Rock n’ Play if this baby doesn’t sleep and we get desperate and that should be it!

One thought on “Baby Gear for #2

  1. Pingback: Trip to Idlewild | Crayons and Drywall : Family & Home

Leave a Reply

