Home » Recipe - Cooking » Weekly Meal Plan #3 & Pigeons

Weekly Meal Plan #3 & Pigeons

Well it’s Tuesday and I’m just now posting a meal plan for the week so.. a little behind.  I’ve already made Monday and Tuesday’s meals.  Here’s the plan:

Monday: We had Oven Fajitas, Budget Bytes which I’ve made 3 or 4 times now and we love them every time.  Sam even loves them.  (A lot of times we supplement his dinner with yogurt or cheese or whatever we can get him to eat).  I also cooked some brown rice and added a can of pinto beans and some taco seasoning for a side.

Tuesday: Vegan Pot Pies, The Minimalist Bakers (see below)

Wednesday: Slow Cooker White Bean Soup, Budget Bytes & Corn Bread Muffins, Allrecipes

Thursday: Church Home Group, we’re ordering pizza

Friday: Probably out to eat or leftovers

Snacks: 5 Ingredient Vegan, gluten-free Fig Bites, The Lemon Bowl (see below)


The Pot Pie and Fig Bites 

I’m bringing a vegan friend who just had a baby a meal tomorrow so I worked that into our meal plan.  I’m going to bring her vegan pot pie and some fresh fruit plus the 5 ingredient fig bites listed above.

For the fig bites, I ended up making them apricot/cashew bites instead of fig/walnut.  I used unsulfered apricots so that’s why they’re a darker color and raw, unsalted cashew pieces in place of walnuts.  Otherwise, I followed the recipe.  They’re really easy and pretty much a homemade Larabar in ball form.  Mine were really sticky.  I found having damp hands really helped with the rolling.  They taste great and were really fast to make.  The recipe ended up making 30.

For the pot pie, I made a double batch so we could have it for dinner.  I followed the recipe exactly and made an 8×8 pan and a round pan of pot pie.  I made a double batch of their vegan biscuits too and ended up having a ton leftover so Sam got to play around and help out.  Vegan cooking is great because Sam can help and if he happens to take a bite, it’s no big deal.

I baked the round pan for us to have for dinner and froze the square pan, uncooked for my friend to just bake from frozen tomorrow.

Here is the round pan, uncooked:

And here it is fresh out of the oven.  It GREW!  Definitely bake these on top of a baking sheet because there’s a good chance it’s going to bubble over.  It tasted great though!  I used low sodium veggie broth and then just tasted my filling and added salt as needed.

This recipe requires very few ingredients and it’s cheap and completely from scratch. Next time I make this, I’ll probably double the recipe and make it in a 13×9 pan because Aaron, Sam and I almost finished off the dish below.

I also wanted to mention that we did eventually taste the pickles I made and they were surprisingly great!  I guess we were expecting them to be kind of weird and not taste like what we’re used to, but they tasted just like pickles.  I’ll definitely make them again.

And one last thing, we went to check out another house today for a possible investment.  It’s for sale for $22,000 so you can imagine the state of this house.  It’s three stories and we got up to the third floor and there were PIGEONS living in the house.  Oh my.  So that one’s out.  Too big of a project for us.

Leave a Reply

