Home » DIY Project » Things to do in Pittsburgh: September 2014

Things to do in Pittsburgh: September 2014

After I posted about the new upcoming events widget Monday, I figured out how to embed the calendar in a post.  It’s already the middle of the month so this just shows the remaining events for the month.  You should be able to click on the events to see more details.  I’ll plan on posting October’s calendar at the end of September.

Lot’s of things going on this weekend!

If you’re into yard sales, there is a huge neighborhood yard sale this Saturday in the Point Breeze neighborhood of Pittsburgh.  60+ families are participating and they even have food trucks coming!  Here’s a link to the website: 4th Annual Point Breeze Yard Sale  It’s 9 AM to 3 PM Saturday, 9/20/14


Family Update

Sam and I are both still a bit sick though we’re on the mend.  I got his cold so now all three of us have had it.  I’ve been napping while he naps this week.

The baby is due two weeks from today.  I should probably think about packing a bag and getting the car seat installed.  When I had Sam, I had a cold and an ear infection and it lingered forever probably because I was so exhausted.  I’m really hoping this cold goes away before the baby comes.

Sam’s new room is coming along.  Aaron finished the painting this weekend and installed the second new window.  The closet now has doors and the new baseboards are all installed.  He just has to finish the trim around the windows and the closet and then we’ll be done!

I’ve been slowly making my way around the house trying to organize and declutter.  We have a small house.  It’s about 1200 square feet, with small closets.  Sometimes I feel like I’d like a bigger house (with a second bathroom and maybe a fourth bedroom/office) and sometimes I think it’s nice to have a small space because it means we have to get rid of stuff and there is less to clean.

The Dining Room Table Makeover

I finally finished painting the dining room table last week!  It was a long, slow process that I drew out forever.

Sam had mother’s day out today so I went to Jo-Ann Fabric and picked out fabric for the chairs.  I also picked up two free stools from a Facebook group and I’m going to recover those as well as the two stools we already had.

Free stools until you spend $40 on batting and fabric…  I want to paint them too but I’m going to hold off on that.  The white stools need to be repainted so I want to do that all together.

The white stools were originally brown and I spray painted them.  Spray painting does not hold up on furniture like that.  Don’t do it!  Or maybe sand and prime and then use a top coat.  Don’t just spray paint like I did.

Sam and I don’t have much going on the rest of the week.  Maybe I’ll break out the finger paints tomorrow. That kid loves to paint.

Leave a Reply

