Home » Parenting » On Having Baby #2. I’m in labor!

On Having Baby #2. I’m in labor!

I wrote this post a few weeks ago then decided to wait to post it until I was officially in labor.  Well, it’s here.  I’m in labor! So here are my thoughts on baby #2.


Having a Second Baby. AHH

Two Years Ago ↑↑↑ So young. so naive.

I’ve heard that it’s difficult transitioning from one child to two. For some reason I have it in my head that it’s going to be no big deal. I’ll just take the baby everywhere Sam and I go now. It’s like I’ve forgotten what it was like when Sam was a newborn…

sleep no

 Baby Sam ↑↑↑

Looking back, I would describe Sam as “colicky” meaning he cried all the time unless he was being bounced or carried around vigorously. There was no just sitting and holding Sam or even standing and holding him. And he screamed in the car for every car ride, the whole time. My friend came to visit us in the hospital when he was born and described him as “the most alert newborn I’ve ever seen.” Bad sign. He never napped for more than like 20 minutes.

The only times he was really content were while being pushed in the stroller or while nursing. So those things happened for hours at a time. I did a lot of walking and a lot of lying in bed.

I’m hoping that this baby will be slightly easier. I used to get so jealous when I saw people just holding a baby on their lap or saw a baby sleeping on someone’s lap because that never happened with us. It was a magical cocktail of bouncing and sound and NOT ever sitting that got Sam to sleep.

So, in theory, this baby will be easier, he’ll be more easily contented and things won’t change that much. HA. We’ll see what happens.

I’m not the best at dealing with little sleep and Sam sleeps really well now. He’ll sleep 10-11 hours through the night and also take a 2 hour nap. Today we actually woke him up from his nap! 1.5 years ago, I never thought this day would come.

I’m sick of being pregnant now but I’m also a little afraid of actually having the baby because I’m thinking the discomfort of being pregnant will be easier than taking care of two kids.


Aaron took Sam over to his parent’s house Saturday afternoon so I had the house to myself for a couple of hours. Is that going to happen anymore? I laid on the couch, ate a chocolate chip pancake and took the world’s longest shower.

Even with all this complaint/worry, I’m looking forward to having a little baby around again. I couldn’t really imagine Sam being our only child. I don’t think I was present enough during his newborn stage for it to be the only time I go through it. Hopefully I’ll be able to be more present this time around and realize that it doesn’t last forever. I will eventually sleep again and I’ll eventually have the house to myself sometimes. And the new baby will eventually be entertained by Curious George enough that I can cook dinner.

And when that time comes, we’ll probably talk about having a third baby. Parenting insanity.

Leave a Reply

