Home » Kiddo Updates » 1 Month Old

1 Month Old

We’re one month into having two kids now.  Finding time to blog is difficult.  It seems that this baby isn’t quite as relaxed as I thought.  It takes a lot of work to get him to sleep.  Mainly, the hair dryer runs for hours a day.  It’s one of the only things that calms him.  We’ve tried white noise apps too but they don’t work as well as the real thing.

Tucker also hates the car.  He screams and screams and gets all sweaty and turns purple.  It’s not pretty.  It’s stressful.  So we’re having a tough time getting out of the house.  We’re going to try tomorrow though!  I made plans.  It’ll only be like a 10 minute drive but 10 minutes of screaming feels like 4 hours and then I’m exhausted before we even get to where we’re going.

So we’ve been taking walks outside a lot instead of getting in the car.

Tucker is on antibiotics right now because he has an ear infection.  Last Saturday and Sunday, he was really upset and then Tuesday night he had a total meltdown for hours and we ended up calling our pediatrician’s 24 line.  We took him to the pediatrician the next day and they diagnosed him.  He did much better on Thursday then had a tough time Friday but then seemed to be a bit better yesterday.  Today he’s been sleeping a lot and seems calmer so I think he’s on the mend!

Aaron’s parents came over Friday after work to watch Tucker and give out candy while we took Sam trick or treating for the first time.  He was a frog.

I kind of thought he would be scared to walk up to all sorts of random people but he really wasn’t at all once he got the idea.   We took him up and down our street then came back and he had his first taste of packaged candy.  He’s had lots of cookies and cake and stuff like that but never really candy.

He was a fan.  “Mama open dis.  I wanna eat dis.”

Tucker helped carve the pumpkins.

In a moment of desperation last week, we ordered an automatic bouncer to try because Tucker really liked the regular bounce seat as long as we were bouncing it.  We got it a few days ago and it hardly bounces.  It’s definitely not vigorous enough to calm him.  Ah well, $60 later.

Sam claimed the old bounce seat.

Being in the Moby sometimes calms Tucker as long as I’m moving around.  Peaceful sleeping baby ↓↓↓ Not typical.  He’s losing his hair too.

I might write a longer post about going from 1 to 2 children but my thoughts right now are that it’s a much easier transition than going from 0 to 1 kid.  I’m already used to having a VERY small amount of free time and time by myself.  I’m already used to feeling like I can never quite finish anything.  I’m already used to having someone rely on me for everything.  And I’m already used to not getting to sit in an office for 8 hours a day.  That sounds like vacation now. Aaron said he had to wait in a waiting room for like an hour the other day and I was jealous.

Definitely being a stay at home mom is great and I wouldn’t want to go back to work but it is also hard work.

So that’s where we are right now.  Kind of survival mode but it’s manageable.  We’re sometimes getting 4 straight hours of sleep!  I don’t think that happened with Sam until he was 6 months old.

Leave a Reply

