Home » Crafting Mama » Back to Blog

Back to Blog

I haven’t written a blog post in a year maybe?  Not sure.  Sam is now 3 (almost 3.5) and Tucker is 15 months!  We’re living in Squirrel Hill right now though we’ll be moving again in August!!

Here’s a pic of the boys sharing a yogurt before bed on Christmas eve.IMAG8188-2

I guess part of the reason I stopped blogging was that the computer we had was a piece of junk and made it really difficult to blog.  The other reason was that I was focusing on my screen printing Etsy shop.  We got a new computer for Christmas and I stopped doing the screen printing thing so here I am, blogging again.  I am thinking about starting to sell sewn items in my Etsy shop but I’m not sure if that’s really what I want to do either.  We’ll see.

In the mean time, maybe I’ll blog once in a while 🙂

I’ve been sewing a lot and sewed a bunch of Christmas gifts this year.  I made a cowl neck sweatshirt for my mother-in-law and my sister-in-law.

I used the free pattern from The Sewing Rabbit but added plaid fabric to the inside of the neck.  Loved this pattern!  I’m planning on making myself one too once I figure out how to use my serger.  I did not use a serger for this one below because I didn’t have it yet.  I might make the sleeve cuffs longer and add thumb holes in the next one because thumb holes are awesome.IMAG8069-2

I attempted quilting for the first time too.  I used this free pattern and was pretty happy with how they turned out!  I had to fake embroider the names with just a tight zig zag stitch so the names definitely aren’t perfect but it worked out.  My parents got me an embroidery machine for Christmas though so lots of monograms coming soon.IMAG8068-2

I made a handbag for my mother-in-law too.  It’s a tote bag pattern that I tweaked.  I cut up an old leather jacket and used the leather to make the bottom of the bag.  There are two pockets inside and a magnetic snap closure.  IMAG7962-2

I also made a little zipper pouch that fits inside of the bag.  Zippers are evil!  I ruined a couple pouches before getting this one mostly right.

IMAG8157-2

I made my father-in-law a boxy dopp kit bag aka a toiletry bag.  I used more of the cut up old leather jacket for this and lined it with cotton camping material.  This pattern was kind of difficult and my box ended up being a bit asymmetrical. IMAG8100-2

IMAG8101-2

And I made a billion cookies to give out as gifts.  I haven’t done cookie decorating in quite a while.  IMAG8117-2

And that’s all the DIY gifts this year.  Now the holidays are over and we’re getting back into the swing of things.  On my fourth load of laundry today! Also, I’ll probably get my domain name back (crayonsanddrywall.com) once I figure out my GoDaddy password…….. <3Pam

6 thoughts on “Back to Blog

  1. I am really impressed with your sewn gifts! I wish my sewing skills were that good!
    I usually make embroidered gifts for xmas but I’ve got to say the names you added to the stockings turned it awesome!
    – Kenzel

  2. Your kids are adorable!!

    Just found your blog and I’m really enjoying it.

    And you can definitely work magic with your DIY projects.
    I recently wrote a post about how to optimize your Etsy store in order to boost your sales if you are interested.
    It would mean a lot if you would check it out.

    Kind regards,
    Ana

Leave a Reply

