Home » Home Project » Thoughts on Insanity and Real Estate

Thoughts on Insanity and Real Estate

I’m fairly sure that all moms feel INSANE.  Like yesterday, I thought to myself, I am going insane.  I am insane.  These kids are driving me insane.  I am going to FREAK OUT if he puts his foot on me one.more.time.

I’m not sure where I’m going with this.  I just think we all feel this way at some time or another.  That’s all I’ve got on that subject.

They’re so cute though.

imag8248_23889757760_o

hmimag8385_24309131016_o

Here’s the deal on our home buying front:

We own a nice house in a nice suburb that we renovated and made mostly nice and then decided we wanted to live in the city.  So we rented out our house in the ‘burbs and found a place to rent in the city.  We moved in August so we’ve been here 6 months.  We have 6 months left on our lease.

We’ve since realized… A. We don’t want to live in half a duplex anymore.  The kids are way too loud. B. We would like a place that is more convenient for Aaron’s job.

So we started looking around at houses to rent or buy.  And we’ve talked about moving back to our nice house in the nice suburb.

We went and looked at a house for sale, technically in the city but not really city and we liked it but it’s a fixer upper.  On the scale of the green dungeon we’ve been working on that has been completely gutted and rebuilt, and, what most people think of as a fixer upper, this is somewhere in between.  It’s livable (which is more than I can say about the nice house in the nice suburbs when we bought it) but it’s not nice and not comfortable yet.

So we’re trying to decide whether we want to move back to our old house or take on this new project.

Pros of the new house are:

  • it’s cheap and taxes are LOW
  • we would add to our real estate empire (Aaron’s words)
  • it has a den in addition to 3 bedrooms (sewing room..)
  • it’s kind of fun to take on a new project
  • it’s a great location in regard to Aaron’s job

Cons:

  • there’s no off-street parking
  • it’s overlooking a Mazda dealership (that view though)
  • we’d be living in a project house again
  • small yard
  • not sure about the neighborhood/neighbors

I’m not sure where I’m going with this subject either.  Just writing as I’m thinking about it.

So, what would you do??

–>Move to the new (old) fixer-upper or move back to the renovated comfy house?

 

Leave a Reply

