Home » Recipe - Baking » Thumbprint Cookies & The Weekend

Thumbprint Cookies & The Weekend

It’s Monday!  Friday night we went out to dinner.  Saturday, Aaron left early to go work on our house in the North Side so I took the boys to the Waterfront because we had a couple errands to run.  We took a walk on the trail there and then played with the hola hoops.

Saturday evening we went to a wedding so my in-laws watched the boys.  The wedding was fun!  We were seated with a bunch of my second cousins who didn’t even remember me because they’re all like 10 years younger than me!  I have quite a few second cousins.  Also, I used to babysit the girl who got married.

I wore a red dress.  I wouldn’t say I’m a huge fan of bright colors.  However, I am a fan of off the shoulder straps.  Two people asked me if I made the dress.  I did not.  Someday maybe.  Right now, lining things like this seems to be over my skill level.imag9732_25103589254_o

Sunday was pretty uneventful.  Aaron took the boys to breakfast and I did a bit of sewing and thinking about the fact that we’re moving in two weeks and haven’t started packing yet.

I made these thumbprint cookies  from Brown Eyed Baker (she’s a Pittsburgh blogger) for the wedding cookie table.  I followed the recipe almost exactly except I added a little extra milk to the dough because it seemed a little dry. (This may have been because I use vanilla bean paste instead of regular vanilla extract.) But they were really good!  I didn’t have any dutch process cocoa so I used Hershey’s Special Dark which was surprisingly good.  Regular Hershey’s cocoa powder is not good.

imag9704_25384701000_o

Also, I didn’t take them out midway through baking and press the indentation again like the recipe said.

imag9701_25658065366_o

I bought blue sprinkles in the bulk bins at the grocery store.  I doubled the recipe for the dough and the frosting and it made exactly 6 dozen.  Apparently thumbprints are a Pittsburgh thing?  I had no idea.  But definitely make these!  Thumbprints are my favorite cookies. Mainly I like frosting.  And sprinkles.  So sugar.  I like sugar.

imag9696_25057505123_o

Leave a Reply

